nenfea replied to your post: akagoldfish replied to your post: bethefoodoflove…

I definitely was saying that I do not equate “development” with “civilization”. That’s why I was struggling for another term because I feel like the terms my education has given me are things like “uncivilized” or imply less civilization

Exactly.  Western-centric, capitalist hegemony which erases the effects of colonialism and builds orientalism is entrenched throughout the vocabulary you’re taught to use in school.  Then you learn a series of big words you can string together that makes a sentences full of -ists and -isms and start wondering if you’re even saying anything any more or just becoming a talking box, parroting back snippets of of obscure documentaries.

Maybe I need to go to sleep.

Leave a Reply

